Intro to Rhubarb

18 Jun

Until last night at 10:30pm, I had never had Rhubarb. My dear mama came to visit me this past weekend and per usual she insisted on stocking up our fridge with groceries. While strolling through Whole Foods, I came across these red stalks that have been intimidating me for the past few years. My mom did the whole “for goodness sakes, just buy them!” and next thing I knew, I had rhubarb stalks in my kitchen. I spent approximately 5 hours looking through pinterest and martha stewart before deciding on a very simple, very easy, very safe rhubarb & strawberry crisp.

But while searching for the perfect recipe, I stumbled upon some visually appealing and (probably) incredibly savory recipes. From chutney to champagne spritzers, this fruit/vegetable/weird-looking-plant has to be the most versatile thing I’ve ever purchsed

(1) Rhubarb-Prosecco Spritzer from this blog (2) Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie from this blog (3) Coconut Rhubarb Scones from this blog (4) Rhubarb Muffins from this blog (5) Rhubarb on my counter (6) My final crisp– I used this recipe, but made some minor tweaks… mainly cutting back on some of the sugar and adding graham cracker crumbs in my topping… oh and not using butter. Basically I made my own recipe with some basic guidelines. It turned out so delicious, that I just had to call my mom and ask her how she deprived me my entire childhood.

And after a day of nagging and whining, the BF finally tried my Rhubarb-Strawberry Crisp… I tell you, he just could not get over the thought of eating red celery for dessert. Don’t worry, Rhubarb, you have two converts now.

One Response to “Intro to Rhubarb”

  1. amypanfalone June 23, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    My mom grew rhubarb in the back yard. Out hometown is famous for its local strawberry farm so she would always make strawberry-rhubarb pie. It is and always will be one of my favorite summer desserts.

Leave a Reply

