Move Over, Thanksgiving

25 Nov

And just like that Thanksgiving is over. It always happens so quickly. The only remnants of Thursday I have left are the pumpkin bread on my counter and this amazingly thoughtful postcard from one of our friends out west.

Doesn’t San Francisco sound so much better than Boston right now? I cannot believe I am even saying this. Anyways, as I mentioned in my previous post–the BF and I are currently living the holiday season to the fullest. And as well as Hanukkah and eight nights of present has treated me, there is something so fun about celebrating Christmas–especially since this is the first time ever that I am celebrating it on my own. Before the BF and I left New Hampshire this afternoon, we stopped by a local farm to pick up a tree… and brought her home. If only I was talking about a puppy instead of a pine…

Things I have learned about Christmas thus far

1. It is not “normal” to name your tree…

2. The name of the red flower things: Poinsettias (and now we have TWO)

3. Pine needles make a mess in a small apartment and should be kept away from carpet if you have a bad vacuum

4. The smaller, cuter trees are not “good enough” for BFs who are very particular about their Christmas trees

***

But don’t fret, Hanukkah, you still hold a very special place in my heart. Below are pictures of my new Menorah and my top-secret letter from my mom regarding my “mysterious maccabee.”

Although, Mom, after getting a tree of my own I am finally understanding why my you insisted on having a “Hanukkah Bush” for so long…

One Response to “Move Over, Thanksgiving”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Christmas Tree | Five Thirty Two - December 8, 2013

    […] year’s DormStyler post on our Christmas Tree here & […]

Leave a Reply

