DIY: Coasters

2 Jul

Last year for Hanukkah my mom bought my brother and his girlfriend map coasters. She chose special places: each of their hometowns, where they met, their homes and where they live now (Murray Hill, Manhattan). I loved the idea so much–and didn’t want to have to wait for the holidays that I decided to venture out into craft world and make them myself. I found this tutorial while searching pinterest one day and just had to make them.

All you need is: mod podge, felt, any road atlas, water-resistant clear acrylic spray (I had a can left over from this project) and ceramic tiles

Just a warning: let the coasters sit for a long time after you mod-podge them down. That stuff does NOT dry quickly!

***

And for those of you out there who LOVE the idea but don’t want to take the time to make them (I promise it’s a quick project) here are some similar coasters I found on Etsy

(1) Chicago Coasters (2) Maine Coaster (3) Portland, Oregon Coasters (4) Virginia/Maryland/DC (5) The World

2 Responses to “DIY: Coasters”

  1. Mom July 3, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    So what am I supposed to get you guys for Channukah now?!

  2. emilyosmond July 19, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    i love maps in interior design – awesome idea making coasters – nice work!

Leave a Reply

