Big Kid Arts and Crafts

8 Mar

Who says you can’t be creative in college?

For as long as I can remember, I was a huge arts & crafts fan. This can probably be attributed to my mother–a fabric artist–who taught us all how to sew at really young ages. Although I absolutely hated sewing and quilting growing up (what a little rebel) it turns out the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, because lately I cannot get enough. My sophomore year in college my mom had her old Bernina sewing machine fixed so that I could have one up at school. After semester of making Halloween and themed dance costumes, I finally decided to make my own quilt.

And let me tell you, cutting fabric is a lot easier when you can use your mom’s two-car garage studio instead of the laundry room in the basement of your dorm. Regardless, I’d say it turned out pretty well.

After hours of painting for my costume design class I decided to make a Lobster…

One Response to “Big Kid Arts and Crafts”

  1. Mom March 9, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    I. AM. SO. PROUD!

Leave a Reply

