Ode to KitchenAid Standing Mixers

29 Feb

For some reason, I have always wanted my own KitchenAid standing mixer. It’s entirely and completely impractical for a recent college grad to own. How much mixing will I really be doing? Especially considering that most of my cooking will consist of defrosting prepackaged meals and concocting stir-frys. But there is just something so simple, sophisticated and almost regal about those shiny appliance that I can’t help but want one. so. badly.

Like any good daughter, I blame this obsession on my mother (and her shiny white KitchenAid appliance). After years of watching her mix cookie batter and homemade ice cream, how could I NOT want one of my own?

In an ideal world I would have a little kitchen like this with a little yellow KitchenAid mixer placed casually on a table… or maybe an Avocado colored one. Okay, let me dream.

Every so often, RueLaLa, Gilt or Joss & Main will pop up with a sale of KitchenAid mixers. Just yesterday, RueLaLa had them for $179… which, if you don’t know anything about these little works of art, is a damn good deal! And yet, if I can’t bring myself to buy one on a private timed-sale site, then I certainly won’t be buying one full price.

I suppose happiness doesn’t usually come in a butter-yellow aluminum kitchen appliance, but maybe, just maybe for this DormStyler it does.

In the mean time I should probably think more about realistic appliances such as an iron or microwave. But gosh, aren’t those so boring in comparison? I think I will settle for this necklace on Etsy and call it a day.

3 Responses to “Ode to KitchenAid Standing Mixers”

  1. papi March 1, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Now I know what we can get you for Channukah!

  2. Mom March 3, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Papi did not leave that message. It was Mami, in disguise. Check out the baking themed cookies here:
    http://www.sweetsugarbelle.com/blog/2011/12/usinglustredustcookies/

    scroll down past the snowflakes–I’ll bet she used a kitchenaid!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life Lately: According to my iPhone « Dorm Styler - May 1, 2012

    […] A bloody mary from the birthday brunch at my house where I got one of these looks like all I need to do is write a good blog post and the presents will […]

Leave a Reply

