Winter Break… and Ringing in the New Year

2 Jan

The past ten days have been a complete whirlwind. I spent Christmas with the BF at his home in New Hampshire before we jetsetted down south to Florida. We spent a few days in Orlando and enjoyed Universal Studios for the first time since I was like twelve years old. Let me tell you, Universal Studios is simply not the place to be (no matter what anyone says) the week after Christmas. The place was packed–but thanks so some fast pass cards we snagged we made it through the lines on a reasonable time line (except for the 2.5 hour wait for the Hulk….)

If you remember from my previous post, one of my goals this break was to read all of the Harry Potter books. I am currently on page 349 of the 7th. Making headway, I know. My HP-immersion made the trip to Universal even more exciting because of the Wizzarding World of Harry Potter. I spent the afternoon in Hogsmeade, sipping on butterbeer and regretting that I was born a Squib. The line into Ollivander’s was approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes long, so I was convinced that in fact, I didn’t need a wand. I’m on eBay right now making up for the lost opportunity.

The BF and I jumped back on a plane and headed back north to New York City for New Years… first Orlando then NYC… looks like we were following hoards of people in the US. New Years was a complete blast. We got to explore the city, sip on champagne, and of course ring in the new year. We spent the evening at Crimson in Midtown and it was an absolute blast!

2012 thus far has been great

Today on the bus ride home from New York (sitting next to a drooling, snoring young man) I got a call from home saying that we adopted a new puppy! Here are pictures from the past ten days and my first pic of many of COOPER my new puppy!

 

 

 

One Response to “Winter Break… and Ringing in the New Year”

  1. Jeyna Grace January 2, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Hogwarts pic look so dark… is it because the dark lord is returning? haha. If you did some photoshop, you can add the dark mark above the school.

Leave a Reply

