Cramped Kitchen Baking

25 Oct

Just because you’re in college does not mean that you can’t get creative in the kitchen. After a summer of cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner I am PERFECTLY happy eating in the dining halls for every meal. However, ever since leaving Boston I’ve been itching to bake. Luckily my 12 best guy friends live in off campus housing with a full (yet often dirty) kitchen. And obviously, whatever I bake–no matter how gross–will be consumed within hours of coming out of the oven. Having guy friends who love baked goods is simply the best. Here are some shots of my most recent college baking experiments (well the first one is from my house this summer…)

1. “Better Than Crack Brownies” posted by one of my very favorite baking blogs, How Sweet It Is. I call these brownies “Type 2 Diabetes in a Glass Platter”

2. FOOTBALL CUPCAKES. I don’t have a recipe because it all came from a box & jar of icing. I love Betty Crocker. I want to thank one of my BFFAE Ben for showing me what a football looks like after I made some really ugly fish-looking cupcakes. Love ya, Ben.

3. Betty Crocker “Simply Add Water” super fake blueberry muffins. These grossed me out but they were a total hit. Go figure. I know you’re probably thinking “the girl goes to school in Maine, why would she ever be using imitation blueberries?” and my answer for you is that it is October and there is no such thing as Maine OCTOBER blueberries. I thought that all blueberry muffins should have one of those sugary/flakey tops so I found this recipe for blueberry tops and added it to the water-mixed-muffins.

4. Apple Crisp made from fresh apples from Wallingfords. I used this recipe–I just removed the pecans and added oats. The next picture of what the apple crisp looked like 5 minutes after it came out of the oven.

6 Responses to “Cramped Kitchen Baking”

  1. Styler Of Dorms October 25, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    wooohoooo football cupcakes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Kathleen October 25, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    AH I saw the “better than crack” brownies on that blog this summer but never got around to making them!! how were theyy??

    • dormstyler October 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      I didn’t include this… but since you asked they were a partial disaster. Only because I accidentally didn’t cook the brownies through all the way. So they were on the mushy side–which is great if you like mushy brownies and salmonella.

  3. Avid Reader October 26, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Dear Dorm Styler,

    Though I’m not a member of DDT or male, may I please participate in the consumption of the non-ugly, non-fish-like cupcakes one day? Once again, thank you for allowing me to take a break from the dredges of Ladd.

    Love always,

    Avid Reader

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl XLVI « Dorm Styler - February 5, 2012

    […] plan thus far: Cheesy Jalapeno Hot Dip, Football Cupcakes and Buffalo Chicken […]

  2. Baking: Full Kitchen Style « Dorm Styler - June 17, 2012

    […] way back when, I posted this about what it was like to bake in college. And although I miss 99.9% of college life, I have to […]

Leave a Reply

