Weekends In Maine

16 Oct

I will admit, I have had my fair share of problems with Maine–however, I really cannot complain about Maine in the fall. What could be better than bright foliage, fresh apple cider, and crisp air? Probably nothing. Last weekend the BF and I went apple picking at a favorite spot: Wallingford’s Fruit House and Orchard. It’s this beautiful 1000 acre family-owned orchard in Auburn, Maine that has been growing and selling their apples since 1803. My personal favorite part of going to Wallingfords is walking into the farm-house-turned-store. We left with a dozen of their best apple cider donuts, although rumor has it their apple dumplings (a la mode) are a tough competitor. It’s sad to think that this will be my last fall in Maine; luckily, I knew the nostalgia would sit in eventually, so I bucked up and finally bought one of their famous bright red Wallingford’s t-shirt. You can take the girl out of Maine, but you can’t take Maine out of the girl.

I couldn’t have picked a better afternoon to go apple picking–even though it was early October, the weather was warm enough for shorts and tank tops. Oh Maine, how fickle you are with your weather patterns. We arrived back at campus with time to “watch” the Patriots game (you know how I feel about football) and enough time in the evening to try my hand at a homemade apple crisp recipe I found here. I added oats to the recipe and omitted pecans only because the BF says all apple crisps are required to have oats but not required to have pecans. Tough crowd, I know. It was an overwhelmingly fun day and it’s days like this I am so grateful for living in Vacationland.

2 Responses to “Weekends In Maine”

  1. mom October 17, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    We wanna photo of the apple crisp!

  2. mom October 17, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I can’t wait to visit in a couple weeks. Happy Birthday to the BF!

Leave a Reply

