Inhale, Exhale, Repeat

9 Oct

This past weekend I went on a college yoga retreat. How cool, right? I’m not a yogi by any means, but there is nothing I enjoy as much as the feeling of walking out of a yoga class, refreshed and revitalized. I learned various things this weekend. 1. I have my limits on how much I am willing to hold other people’s hands 2. I am not the type of person to wake up at 6:30 am to do morning meditations and 3. Contrary to my own belief, I can live 24 hours without my cellphone–even if it is anxiety producing and makes my pores sweat.

It was really refreshing to get away from campus and meet so many students who I would never have met if for not for this retreat. We arrived to the college-owned beach housing Friday night and began our practice. After dinner, our yoga instructor (and the reason for why my Fridays are so wonderful) told us that we were going to be silent until 9:30 the next morning. If you know me, you can imagine how stressful this was. I can’t help but talk! Even if we were asleep for like 7 of the 12 hours. Let me tell you, it was NOT easy. And it was kind of lonely too, which makes me even more appreciative of the BF who puts up with all my talking and my stories and my obsession with finding puppy pictures online.

On Saturday morning we woke up at 6:30. Yes, 6:30 to begin some “mindful meditation”  where we had to sit like this for 10 minutes straight–but we obviously didn’t look this hot, and weren’t on the beach in our itty-bitty bikinis in the sunshine–we were in Maine, in the woods, at 6:30 in the morning wearing flannel. Let me tell you, it was a painful 10 minutes and my arms are still reminding me of it 36 hours later.

Overall, it was a wonderful way to spend my Friday and Saturday–and even if I missed cool parties and the chance to wear a toga in a socially accepting setting. It was nice to give myself the opportunity to indulge in yoga for 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

