Collegiate Sophistication

2 Oct

Each year my college (like every other college in the US) hosts a parents weekend. Let me preface this post by letting you know about my thoughts about parents weekend: I generally dislike it, eh I generally hate it. Not that I don’t LOVE parents and mine specifically–but parents weekend is just too stressful. For starters, you don’t really get to meet any of your friend’s parents because they’re all out to Freeport shopping all day and making family dinner reservations at night. The only year my parents came was my Sophomore year when Maine got hit with sweeping downpours and my whole family just hung out on my futon.

BUT NOT THIS YEAR

Parents weekend senior year was perhaps the most fun I’ve had at school this fall. Friday night the boys living off campus hosted a wine and cheese cocktail hour for parents and children. Although I was an orphan (Mom don’t read this and get emotional) It was so nice to meet all everyones parents in such a relaxed environment. After the Parents-Weekend-A Capella-Concert the parents went back to the off campus house to play a few intense games of beirut. Of course, I will not be posting any pictures of the parents beating their own children at this popular college drinking game–employers look at facebook too, even when you’re in your 50s.

Last night, KME hosted it’s own little wine and cheese cocktail hour hosted by your favorite sorority sisters. Us girls got all excited for the event and made the suite look spotless and perhaps went a little overboard on the details. We bought “expensive” cheese and “artisan crackers” because wheat thins and blocks of orange cheddar would simply not do. We even splurged on the giant bottles of wine and bought Yellow Tail over Franzia. I feel just so grown up! Overall the night was a total hit, the BF even invited his parents to the KME cocktail hour–it was just wonderful. Of course, I’m a pretty sad dormstyler over here for not inviting my parents. I suppose I will just have to wait until graduation for my parents to schmooze away. Sorry that my pictures are blurry, I didn’t want to be the biddie with the bright flash–I obviously regret this decision.

2 Responses to “Collegiate Sophistication”

  1. mom October 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    NOOOOOO! If we would have known you wanted us to come, we would have been there! I do not know what beirut is, but it would have been worth the trip just for the artisan crackers. I really like the seasonal pumpkin decor touch. Very Martha. Miss you, honey. And I’m not emotional.

  2. sharon fricke October 10, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    sounds like a truly great and sophisticated event which will probably be featured in Town and Country magazine. gramum

Leave a Reply

