DIY: Dorm Styler

29 Aug

Waiting for Irene to hit made Saturday a very boring day. And it wasn’t until two thirty in the morning that I heard even a peep from that hurricane. In the midst of the faux-hurricane… or furricane I decided to get my arts and crafts on inside.

Last week at HomeGoods I saw this amazing looking frame; it appeared to have newspaper clippings as the matted board–but when I looked closely they weren’t real newspaper clippings or even articles with complete sentences. I thought to myself, “Come on, HomeGoods, you can do better than this!” and then decided that in fact, I could do better than this.. and so spurred my newest idea. It was very easy, very fun, all you will need is:

1. Stack of old books you don’t care about

2. A 8×10 framing board with a 5×7 picture opening–can be purchased at any craft store

3. A 8×10 frame. I suggest something simple because the board will be so busy

4. Mod Podge. My love.

I found a huge stack of old books from high school–most of which had every paragraph on every single page highlighted (did I really think that was helpful?). I was lucky enough to find a few blank pages from some of my favorite Shakespeare plays including The Taming of The Shrew–which I found oddly reminiscent of growing up in a family with three girls. I clipped random pages from various plays and a few of my favorite Walt Whitman and John Keats poems to make this frame.

Take the clippings, mod podge them down, and cut so that the opening looks crisp, and voila!

2 Responses to “DIY: Dorm Styler”

  1. mom August 29, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    This is so cool! Can you show the finished project with the photo inside? Just sayin

  2. mom August 29, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    wait, wait! you cut up your shakespeare books!!!???!!!

Leave a Reply

