Baking for Every Taste

25 Aug

This is not a baking blog, not in the least. When I told my friend Mike I was starting a blog he said “make sure it’s not a cooking blog–99% of all blogs today are cooking blogs.” And god forbid I ever do something so mainstream! But, low and behold, here I am blogging about my scone adventure.

Growing up in a big family, one thing is for certain–everyone has an opinion; and that is no different when it comes to taste. My youngest sister loves chocolate and my mother abhors it. We’re pretty complicated. I wanted to bake something that could meet everyone’s taste without having to bake six separate treats. The solution: scones! I found a very basic recipe for a simple scone and then scavenged the kitchen for tasty combinations. What I ended up was four different flavors: 1. Brown Sugar, Oatmeal and Walnut; 2. Vanilla and Blueberry; 3. Milk Chocolate and Walnut; and 4. Sharp Cheddar Cheese and Dill.

They were a hit with everyone, thankfully. I even got some help from my favorite pup cleaning up the pieces of cheese that fell on the ground. The hardest part of leaving home for college is undoubtably, without a doubt in my mind–leaving my dog at home. I could write a whole blog about how much I love my dog, but don’t worry I will spare you all.

Leave a Reply

